Dr. Drez Completes 10-Year Certification Program

Dr. Drez Completes 10-Year Certification Program

David Drez, Jr., MD, orthopedic surgeon and sports medicine specialist with Center for Orthopaedics, has been recognized by the American Board of Orthopaedic Surgery for successful completion of its Maintenance of Certification requirements. This means he has fulfilled all the stringent criteria for the Board’s recertification process, as well as participated in the full 10-year Maintenance of Certification program, which has many additional requirements of documentation and reporting of lifelong learning and performance. This accomplishment demonstrates that Dr. Drez is maintaining the highest standards of patient care and expertise in orthopedic surgery, as set by the American Board of Orthopedic Surgery.

Dr. Drez is recognized as a leading national expert in the orthopaedic and sports medicine fields, and has published a large body of research that focuses on athletic injuries and prevention. He serves as a clinical professor of orthopaedics at the Louisiana State University School of Medicine in New Orleans, and at Baylor College of Medicine in Houston. Dr. Drez is currently one of 40 physicians in the country serving on the American Orthopaedic Society for Sports Medicine’s (AOSSM) Self-Assessment Committee.In recognition of his significant contributions to the education of orthopedists, the "Dr. David Drez Chair in Orthopedic Sports Medicine” was dedicated at LSU in New Orleans in 2006.

You Might Also Enjoy...

Dr. Steven Hale Elected to LSMS Council on Legislation

Steven Hale, MD, orthopaedic surgeon with the Center for Orthopaedics, was elected to serve on the Council on Legislation for the Louisiana State Medical Society (LSMS) at their annual House of Delegate’s meeting held earlier this month.

Rodriguez Named Clinical Athletic Trainer of the Year

Jason Rodriguez, MS, LAT, ATC, the High School Athletic Training Program Coordinator for the Center for Orthopaedics, was named the Clinical Athletic Trainer of the Year by the Louisiana Athletic Trainers’ Association (LATA). The award was presented...